i saw this link under a couple photos here. never noticed it before. is this a feature that allows you to view a larger version if the photog uploaded something larger than 720px?
Yes, that is right! You upload a larger image and the site will automatically resize it for viewing, but includes a link to the larger version. Good for panorama shots.
I don't believe there is an upper dimension limit. You just need to upload an image like normal at whatever size you want and the link will be attached to the image.
Originally posted by C_Steve_G:
My question is;
"How do you disable that feature, especially if the full-size was intended for prints?"
You can upload images up to 800 pixels before the full size image link is activated. To disable it for prints, you must use Save for Web and set the image dimensions to max 800 pixels. Then on the "Edit portfolio" section you upload the full resolution image to the upload printable version button.
"How do you disable that feature, especially if the full-size was intended for prints?"
You can upload images up to 800 pixels before the full size image link is activated. To disable it for prints, you must use Save for Web and set the image dimensions to max 800 pixels. Then on the "Edit portfolio" section you upload the full resolution image to the upload printable version button.
This, then, would imply that if an existing image was uploaded for print using the "Upload Image" box, instead of the "Upload file for print" box, then a print seller could inadvertantly make his complete printable file available for download (for free). Sound right?
I'm asking because a friend may have done this, and I'm attempting to resolve how, and how to fix it.
Indeed ~ I checked and confirmed that with the "Full Size" icon present, a nefarious person could be one right click away from having a FULL SIZE photo to print completely circumventing the DPC Print purchase process, which was why the LARGE size photo was placed there. The location of the watermark would likely not deter the person from stealing the photo. I look forward to a solution to resolve that issue.
Indeed ~ I checked and confirmed that with the "Full Size" icon present, a nefarious person could be one right click away from having a FULL SIZE photo to print completely circumventing the DPC Print purchase process, which was why the LARGE size photo was placed there. The location of the watermark would likely not deter the person from stealing the photo. I look forward to a solution to resolve that issue.
jdannels explained it above: don't upload a full-size photo, and then no one can steal it.
If your intent is to upload a full-size version to have it printed at DPCPrints, you first upload a small version and then in the editing screen, upload the print version at the bottom.
This, then, would imply that if an existing image was uploaded for print using the "Upload Image" box, instead of the "Upload file for print" box, then a print seller could inadvertantly make his complete printable file available for download (for free). Sound right?
I'm asking because a friend may have done this, and I'm attempting to resolve how, and how to fix it.
It's simple to fix: open the editing page for the image and upload a new version. under the "Optional Information:" section, in the file box at the top.
Or, if for some reason that doesn't work, just delete it and start over.