My understanding is this:
If proof is requested on your image during a challenge while voting is still in progress, the various steps of the verification process are listed: proof requested, proof received and being reviewed, and then either validated or DQ'd. This was easy to implement this way because your challenge entries (and any text like "your photo has been validated") automatically "disappear" when voting is over.
When proof is requested on a challenge that has already finished voting, you will see a special "proof requested" box in the top-left of the home page when you are logged in, and once you submit proof, that box goes away. At that point, I believe you would only be notified (via email) if your image was DQ'd. I agree that it would be nice if a box came back up that said "your entry has been validated" (and you could somehow acknowledge it so it the box went away again), but I think that things are implemented the way they are now because it was the quickest way to add web-based (as opposed to relying on email) "proof required" notification. |