I've been having a few problems with voting here recently.
The most frequent one is that, after voting on a photo, instead of the next one appearing, the window has returned to the challenge page. As my connection is pretty slow at the best of times, this is making it very difficult to get through all the photos in time.
Far more troublesome however, sometimes when the next photo does appear, it shows with a score marked as if I had already voted, and sometimes a comment filled in too. I have just received a message from a confused member who could not understand what my comment was about - well justified since it was a comment I made about a photo in a different challenge entirely.
Has anyone else had either of these problems, or is my computer playing tricks on me?
You should contact the site through the help/contact link and report this; it sounds like there is a serious problem, and I dont think (could be wrong) it is on your end.
The only similar thing I hae experienced is the first problem, and oly if I walk away for awhile and return, sometimes I will get bumped back to the main page for the challenge.
With regard to the second problem, it would be valuable for the admins to know if when you see a "pre-voted" or "pre-commented" photo, was it wne you had voted on before, and was the comment yours?
2 things to check.
a. the sensitivity setting on your mouse
b. be sure to click only 1 time.
rationale:
Your dial up is slow to show a response, but the computer picks up the additional click and processes it anyway. It's actually working the way it should, you're just in a hurry. Had this happen at work once and took the IT guys 3 months to figure it out.
But surely clicking the mouse twice wouldn't transfer information to a different window. I was voting on two challenges at the same time and the comment went to a photo in a different challenge.
But surely clicking the mouse twice wouldn't transfer information to a different window. I was voting on two challenges at the same time and the comment went to a photo in a different challenge.
The first mouse click activates a Java script "do vote ..." At that point the next page starts downloading. If you click again before it finishes you may initiate another "do vote ..." command which is held in the browser's memory, and executed as soon as the new page finishes.
I know that when I make on-line bill payments/transfers, they have an explicit instruction next to the "Submit Payment" button warning you to only click once, even if nothing seems to be happening after you click.