Guys, i was wondering if someone could tell me the best way to get a "Dark edges" effect in a photo, not sure what the proper name for it is. here's an example I saw earlier today which I'd love to emulate:
Paint around the edges with a soft brush at about 25% opacity.
Or use the lasso tool select around the edges, feather and invert. Fill the new selection with black and then decrease the soft light layer opacity as desired.
Edit: the technique is called "Burning the edges" It is used to add more focus to the subject of the shot.
One easy way that I've been using lately... Use your eliptical selection tool and select an area around your subject or where you want the vignette to be. Next, go to select/inverse. Next, right click anywhere on your photo and choose "feather" and set it to about 200 (you can play around with this a bit). Now go to levels or curves and darken it to the desired effect. It takes a little playing around to get the feel of it, but produces nice even results.
I would think that a circular gradient adjustment layer backing off the opacity would be Basic Legal.
Hold up... the Gradient layer isn't an adjustment layer it's a data layer and will get you a DQ under Basic Rules. I think you may be confusing it with the Gradient Map, which is completely different.
For Advanced rules challenges you can add a vignetted border using the following steps. Adjust the dimensions/iterations based on file size and your taste -- these are "typical" for a DPC Entry-sized images:
-Select > All
-Select > Modify > Border: 8 pixels
-Select > Feather: 16 pixels (repeat for more feathering)
-Edit > Fill: Foreground color (pick first)
I use Curves adjustments to tweak the gradient; you can also sit the Fill command to less than 100%.
If you put all of this on a separate layer, you can also adjust the overall opacity of the layer with the vignette.
These were made with a similar process:
Sometimes, it's just an effect of the focal length of the lens and the position of the sun in the sky:
If you add another layer and fill it with black, you can use a large eraser brush to create the vignette or (even better, possibly) add a layer mask and hide the central portion using a large, soft-edged brush. Lower opacity to taste.
There has actually been quite a bit of discussion on this topic; here are a few thoughts related to the subject:
- There is no way to apply vignetting in post-processing in Basic that is legal. If there is some amount already there in the original, and it can be enhanced using *global* levels or curves, that is legal.
- There are a number of ways to achieve a vignetted effect in camera by using masks in front of the lens. Anything done in-camera is legal in Basic.
- It's legal to use most RAW converter adjustments in Basic. Many RAW conversion programs provide vignetting correction as an option. The adjustments possible on the vignetting "correction" tool also make it possible to make vignetting more apparent, in other words to apply vignetting. This is a sure DQ, in fact it has happened on at least one occasion. Take-away: in basic, you may use the tool to correct, because that falls under "preserve photographic integrity", however you may not use it to apply vignetting.
- In advanced, you can use any method you like. The only thing to avoid is complete removal of major elements as a consequence of the applied adjustments. The method I find easiest is as follows:
* Create a curves adjustment layer above your image data layer(s)
* Pull the center of the curve downward; don't worry about how much, but be sure the effect is noticable
* Apply black-to transparent gradient from center to edge of the layer mask for the adjustment layer.
* Repeat gradient as required to get the right shape and coverage
* Adjust the opacity of the layer, the blend mode of the layer, and the shape of the curve to tailor the vignette effect to taste.
You can do vignetting in basic, actually, but not as a post-processing step. There was a thread here in the last couple days that explained how vignetting was achieved on an iris photo from the Purple challenge, using some white foam board, if I recall.
There are a number of ways to achieve a vignetted effect in camera by using masks in front of the lens. Anything done in-camera is legal in Basic. ......
..
I have used in the old film days a styrofoam cup cut out the end and slip over lens, also nylons cut, and old film filters can be made (duct tape & rubberbands) to fit. You know back in the day when we had to do it all the hard way. You could but a vignetter (sp) a long time ago. It fit like a filter to the lens and were round with jaged inner space. This would be a fun challenge Vignetted with out photoshop. Hummm....
I would think that a circular gradient adjustment layer backing off the opacity would be Basic Legal.
Hold up... the Gradient layer isn't an adjustment layer it's a data layer and will get you a DQ under Basic Rules. I think you may be confusing it with the Gradient Map, which is completely different.
Ok my mistake.
I guess I was confused because when you click "add adjustment or fill layer" there is no notation of which is which.
I guess just the top three are fill and the rest are adjustment?
For some reason I always read them all as 'adjustment' layers.
So, excluding basic this is a quick and easy way to get a decent vignette.
- Gradient fill, radius, reverse, scale it to around 150% and then fade the opacity.
-