when i add a border to some of my images via the way of enlarging the canvus, it appears to be making 2 sides of the image bigger than the other 2 sides. it only happens when i try to do a small increase (1-3 pixels). is there a problem with what i'm doing or is there a better way?
-SelectAll
-Edit>Stroke: options for thickness, foreground or background color, and opacity.
Note that this will go INSIDE your picture, covering the edges -- sometimes this is good if you have a minor flaw but don't want to crop.
As noted before, if you increase the Canvas by an equal number of pixels on each side but it looks uneven on screen, it is almost certainly a "display artifact" due to an eneven match between the spacing of the pixels in you image and the phosphor dots on your (CRT) monitor screen. Try different zoom magnifications and some of them should look even and others not.
With thicker borders the "1/2 pixel" difference isn't noticable.
I think I read somewhere that when you want to do a 1 pixel border, you actually need to add 2 pixels to the canvas size, since it will be divided by 2. You would always have to add an even number of pixels to the dimensions.
@ GeneralIE: Why does the stroke never work at the outside, but the option is there? do you know what the use of it is?
If you create any kind of selection (rectangular, oval, lasso) which is not at the image edge, you can apply the stroke inside, outside, or centered on the selection.
For an interesting effect try this (in Photoshop):
-SelectAll
-Select > Modify > Border (16 pixels)
-Select > Inverse
-Edit > Stroke: FG color, 100% opacity, 8 pixels, centered
@ GeneralIE: Why does the stroke never work at the outside, but the option is there? do you know what the use of it is?
Maybe you selected the whole thing. In that case, the outside is not visible. I was able to use outside mostly when drawing frames around triptych type images, where each frame is in its own layer, and the outside worked good.
I think I read somewhere that when you want to do a 1 pixel border, you actually need to add 2 pixels to the canvas size, since it will be divided by 2. You would always have to add an even number of pixels to the dimensions.
It is most likely that this the root cause of your problem.
Normally you enter TWICE the number of pixels you'd expect in both the "Width:" and "Height:" entries in the "canvas size" dialog box. That is because the amount you enter is divided to BOTH sides of the image. That is also why you rarely add an odd amount, it leaves the sides unbalanced by 1 pixel.