Hi
I have heard term alpha channel lots of times being used.I just want to know what is alpha channel.
Recently i learned a new way of converting color images into BW. Using this way, BW image that was created was alpha channel images, when i tried to save it saved only in psd or some related format but not in jpeg or tiff.
Selections, vector/layer masks and alpha channels are all different mainfestations of the same thing. They are interchangeable.
Alpha channels are the layer-like places in the channels pallet where selections, vector masks and layer masks are created and stored by various means. They display as black and white and they are modified by painting with black and white (or grey).
Because an alpha channel is like a layer it can only be saved in formats, like .psd or .tif, that support saving layers.
Since selections are easiest to understand, thinking of an alpha channel as a selection is a good starting point for understanding them better.
Using Alpha Channels is an excellent way of capturing the most detail from images with fractles ( ie, hair, trees, ect.) when pulling an image, or extracting an image.
"Digital Compositing for Film and Video" by Steven Wright; Focal Press
is an excellent book on explaining, and walking the reader through on using the various differant types of Alpha Channels in PS.
Thanks alot. Actually i just learnt a new method of converting color to bw, using calculations and the image becomes alpha channel.Kind of a great way to convert into bw.
We can convert from alpha back to rgb mode right, how do we do that
Thanks alot. Actually i just learnt a new method of converting color to bw, using calculations and the image becomes alpha channel.Kind of a great way to convert into bw.
We can convert from alpha back to rgb mode right, how do we do that
Unsure this is exactly what you are asking, but...
1-In the "Channels" pallet highlight the desired alpha channel
2-Choose "Select->All"
3-Deselect alpha channel and return to the "Layers" pallet
4-Choose "Layer->New->Layer" to create a new empty layer; be sure it is at the top
5-Choose "Edit->Paste"
The top layer is now a black and white data layer that is your black and white version.