I have seen images where the borders look like they have been done with a paint brush stroke. Can someone please tell me or point me in the right direction of how to do these flashier borders? If I manage to find any samples of what I mean I will post one up.
I've always wanted to know how to get the "film" style look to photos....you know...burned corners and the film border around it.
It's hard to describe
I know what you mean. I'm sick of doing standard borders. I'm working on some wedding shots at the moment and I have a series of 4 photos I'd like to incorporate onto 1 photo but I don't know how to do the border. I've seen it done before but as usual, now I cant find any samples and I don't know how to do it! :(
I know you have PS CS but if you can find a copy of PSP9 it should be cheap now it has some great borders that nothing else can touch. I keep it around just for this feature. Did you mean something like this?
Just create a layer mask on your photo and paint over it with one of the default dry media brushes, or a downloaded brush of your choice. Alternatively, paint white over the top with these brushes.
You can always paint a border with a paintbrush -- just put it on a new layer so you can modify it easily.
You should be able to find clip art of a strip of blank "film" -- import into Photoshop and paste your photo into the center.
To "vignette" the photo corners try this:
NOTE: pixel dimensions are for a DPC-sized photo; expand proportionally as needed for larger images. Do all this on a new Layer.
-Select All
-Select > Border = 6-16 pixels
-Select > Feather = 4-12 pixels -- you can repeat this step for even more feathering effect
-Edit > Fill = Foreground color (black, or whatever you set it to first)
-Adjust layer opacity if desired
You should end up with something like this (though the example has a slightly thicker solid border than what's recommended above):
anothre way to do edges are to go to //www.atncentral.com and download an action that will add an edge...its fairly far down the page... like this: (sorry if its way too big)
Have a DPC sized Image of 610 pixels on longest edge in a flattened state and no boarder.
* Duplicate to create new layer and ensure this is on top.
* Increase canvas size of original layer by 30 pixels on both height and with your rectangular marquee tool drag a rectangle around the whole image.
* Using “Edit”, “Stroke”, create a boarder on the original layer of width 15 pixels to any colour you wish.
* Whist still on the original layer select “Filters”, “Distort”, “Ocean Ripple”.
Ripple Size = 5
Ripple Magnitude = 7
Then select OK
The top layer masks the ripple effect across the whole image, and you should now have a ragged edge displayed on the on the bottom layer, and an image 640 on its longest side.
if this is too rough use a lower ripple setting and smaaller boarder