Its probably one of the least usefull parts of dpc. Not because of the intent that is to show you that someone would like to buy your photo at the end of the challenge but because once the challenge has completed the voting, that is the last time you will see it for that photo.
You never even get to find out who it was.
I have only had it happen to me twice and no photos have sold from it.