I've been having the strangest issue with sending my images out to print. I'm uploading hi res jpg files which once they're uploaded, lose their color. The uploaded images appear dull, dark, and grayish. One of the fulfillment sites said the image had been saved in the lab color space. I've cheched my ps settings and as far as I can tell, everything is in rgb color space. When I save as jpg, there's only one check box that seems relevant - pro color space, rgb. But when I upload the resulting image, it appears in that dulled out way. However, when I save for web, there is an option to apply rgb settings. I cannot figure out how to get rgb settings when I save as jpg!!!!
Nope. If I "save as" jpg, the only box available under color is "ICC Profile: ProPhoto RGB". The box above it - Use Proof Setup: working CMYK - is grayed out, and anyway, the wrong color space. If I save for web, thre is a "convert to sRGB: box, which is checked. Also, the embed color profile box is checked. When I save this way, and upload it, there does not seem to be an issue with the color on the print site. But I want to know it shifts color when I save as jpg....
I don't really know what I'm talking about, but try File -> Scripts -> Image Processor
There's a check box to include the ICC profile. Max quality is 12, I believe. Not very intuitive. Perhaps I'm off track, but you could try it.
Edit: Sorry, I didn't fully read your last post. As a last step, convert to sRGB or whatever profile you want (under Edit menu), then save as JPG. I'm curious what happens then.
Not sure what I'm looking for in there, Scott. I looked under "color settings", and it just lists the available color spaces. Regardless, I've never touched anything in that menu, so the default is RGB, isn't it? The technician of the first site said that the file was in LAB color space. I have no idea how that could have happened, as I don't even know how to create save in that space.
If shooting RGB this seems to cure any color space mismatch, and color shift problems when converting to srgb never seems to be an issue. Allows LAB without any mismatch issues.
Nope I don't think this will work for srgb either......
Changing default color space to srgb is all I can think of....
The technician of the first site said that the file was in LAB color space. I have no idea how that could have happened, as I don't even know how to create save in that space.
The only time I've used LAB color space was for sharpening processes. Perhaps you did the same as a last step and didn't convert back? Gremlins in the machine.
Yup, I've tried all these things, and they were already the settings you all suggested. Not sure what sharpening technique you used, Scott, but I haven't done anything differently that I'm aware of, but we all know PS has bizarre little quirks - or Gremlins, as you suggest ;)
The thing is that this just started happening. My workflow has been pretty much the same for a while, and the images have always printed perfectly. Then suddenly...
Undie, that's what my menu settings look like as well.
Two questions:
1.) When you have the file open, look under Image>Mode. What's checked?
2.) Look at your channels panel (center tab at the top of where the Layers panel is located). What channels arelisted?
Two questions:
1.) When you have the file open, look under Image>Mode. What's checked?
2.) Look at your channels panel (center tab at the top of where the Layers panel is located). What channels arelisted?
Two questions:
1.) When you have the file open, look under Image>Mode. What's checked?
2.) Look at your channels panel (center tab at the top of where the Layers panel is located). What channels arelisted?
I'm not at that computer right now, but I recall the mode was 16-bit. I changed it to 8-bit. No difference. Under channels, all the channels were listed.
This is all confusing because there's a difference between "assigning" a profile to an image, and "embedding" the profile, plus the issue of your "proofing" setup ... you probably need kirbic or scalvert to explain it all properly though ... :-(
This is all confusing because there's a difference between "assigning" a profile to an image, and "embedding" the profile, plus the issue of your "proofing" setup ... you probably need kirbic or scalvert to explain it all properly though ... :-(
I understand that printing is a whole other science, but I've never had this issue before. Nothing in the creation of the file has changed on my end, but the printed results suddenly have.
If you are seeing Red, Green and Blue channels then you are certainly not working in LAB color mode. If you have explicitly converted to an RGB profile and saved, embedding the profile information (not assigning, but converting/embedding), then any remaining issues should only be ones of differing calibrations or of proofing settings. The fact that the print lab is telling you that your image is in LAB space leads me to believe that there is something wrong either in transmission or on their end.
You should look at ways to independently verify the saved file.
The odd thing, Fritz, is that when I "save for web" the issue is resolved. The site where the problem first appeared (PIOC), only accepts jpg format. I'm trying out Bay Photo now, and did not look into alternate formats, but will in the future.
The odd thing, Fritz, is that when I "save for web" the issue is resolved.
Well, that I think gives us an important clue... since saving for web strips a lot of "extraneous" information, it may be eliminating the source of the misinterpretation on the print lab's end.
It would be very interesting to open both "Save for Web" and normally saved jpeg versions on a different machine, and see how Ps interprets the files.
It would be very interesting to open both "Save for Web" and normally saved jpeg versions on a different machine, and see how Ps interprets the files.
Even better might be to open them with one or more browsers and any other image previewing software and see if they look different there, since you already know how they look in Photoshop.