Anytime I am looking to use an online retailer that I haven't used before, I check here. They don't seem to be listed, which is a red flag for me. It either means they are too new (they'd have to be *very* new) or they have been changing their name to lose a bad reputation. I'd bet on the latter.
I also just found the DPReview thread Robert linked to, as well as threads on Cambridgeincolour and a cople other sites. None of the threads had testimonials from anyone who had actually bought from them. I did glean the following information:
- They supposedly have both a US and UK presence
- The US address is not known, but the US phone number apparently resolves to somewhere in Queens (not good, IMO)
- The UK site apparently lists prices without VAT added, then adds the VAT once the process of purchasing the product is started.
I also just found the DPReview thread Robert linked to, as well as threads on Cambridgeincolour and a cople other sites. None of the threads had testimonials from anyone who had actually bought from them. I did glean the following information:
- They supposedly have both a US and UK presence
- The US address is not known, but the US phone number apparently resolves to somewhere in Queens (not good, IMO)
- The UK site apparently lists prices without VAT added, then adds the VAT once the process of purchasing the product is started.
I'm wondering if it is UK only. I can see it listed here:
//www.trustpilot.co.uk/review/slrhut.co.
(and positively too)
Showing Leica M9s at £1600 below list price...
I'm *very* skeptical of this. Pretty much the *only* reviews I can find are on the Trustpilot site and they are almost uniformly glowing, falling-over-themselves good. Something is rotten in the state of Denmark.