Originally posted by floyd: How about changing the system so that you can see the name of the person that left the comment and you can send them a PM. But if you *do* send them a PM then it locks their vote so they cant go back and change it.
This suggestion, or something like it, is made every week in reply to the argument over discussing photos before the challenge is over. No one wants their vote to be locked because most people revise theirs once or more during the week.
If we have small groups you can join to discuss your photos, and then strongly discourage this kind of discussion in the main forums, it would help the situation a lot, I believe.
What I said before about having the groups work by invitation is probably not the best way. We can just have a page where you can join one if it has less than a certain number of members. Starting with beginner's/newbies groups for people new to the site, and then others that are more advanced or specialised, where members can expect the discussion to be more technical.
I really like this idea! I think people would learn a lot more, and a lot of the discussions that regulars get annoyed with in the forums would happen in the groups instead.
|